The Oahe Dam project was commissioned in 1944, and upon completion was the largest rolled-earth dam in the world. The reservoir is more than 200 miles in length and has in excess of 2,000 miles of shoreline.
Oahe Dam, Mission School and Chapel
Thomas L. Riggs was delegated in 1872 to serve the Teton Sioux along the Missouri River. Riggs named his missionary site Oahe, a Dacotah word meaning “a place to stand upon.” Riggs found it necessary in 1877 to build a church and a school for his Oahe Station mission. The church became the religious center of a large area.
The building that served as both the church and school has remained unchanged through the years. It stands atop the eastern edge of Oahe Dam, just off state Highway 1804. Learn more and view photos: http://www.nps.gov/history/nR/travel/pierre_fortpierre/oahe_chapel_pierre.html
Posted in History