Fort Pierre is the oldest continuous white settlement in South Dakota, located at the mouth of the Bad River. It was named after American fur trader Pierre Choteau Jr. of St. Louis, Missouri.
Fort Pierre, SD
The site of the town was first visited by François de La Vérendrye and his brother in 1743 during an expedition on the upper Missouri River. A monument marks the spot where the brothers buried a lead plate, claiming the territory for France.
Many fur trading companies, including the French Fur Company and American Fur Company, owned and operated the fort from 1817 to 1864.
Fischers Lily Park, at the mouth of the Bad River in Fort Pierre, is where the old fort was constructed. Located nearby is the site where the Lewis and Clark Expedition met with the Teton Sioux for the first time. During the Black Hills gold rush, the Fort Pierre to Deadwood trail closely followed what is now Highway 34 westward.
Fort Pierre is certainly a place where the West begins and the community recently opened the Casey Tibbs Rodeo Center. For more information on this and other sites in the Fort Pierre area, please visit any of the below sites: http://www.caseytibbs.com/Home.aspx or http://www.fortpierre.com/ or http://www.travelsd.com/.
Posted in History