Dec
08

Christmas in the Black Hills to Air Nationwide

by Katlyn Richter on December 8, 2011 · 5 comments

The Black Hills will be featured on a national level this holiday season. “A Christmas in the Black Hills,” a one-hour holiday special filmed in Deadwood and the Black Hills, will premier on Monday, Dec. 12, at 7 p.m. CT/6 p.m. MT on Great American Country (GAC).

Hosted by famed country duo Big & Rich, the special also features Thompson Square, Bradley Gaskin, Tracy Lawrence, Andy Gibson and The Farm in holiday scenes and songs around South Dakota’s Black Hills. Performances were filmed for the special at Mount Rushmore National Memorial, on Deadwood’s Main Street, Mt. Moriah Cemetery and the Saloon #10, the 1880 Train in Hill City, the Mickelson Trail, Pactola Lake, a buffalo herd and other locations.

According to GAC, during the special, Big & Rich will perform “Blue Christmas” and “Drunk on Christmas,” an original song by Saturday Night Live’s Jimmy Fallon. Bradley Gaskin sings “Beautiful Star of Bethlehem” while Thompson Square shares their rendition of “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” from the back of a horse-drawn sleigh as well as “Christmas in Dixie,” and Tracy Lawrence hops on a 19th century locomotive for “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.” Andy Gibson performs both “The Christmas Song” and “Feliz Navidad” and The Farm contributes their version of “Oh Holy Night.”

Christmas in the Black Hills wraps with the artists joining together for a medley of holiday classics. The special will re-air on GAC throughout the holiday season.

The special will be aired on GAC TV several times during December:

Monday, December 12
8 p.m. (ET) / 7 p.m. (CT) / 6 p.m. (MT)
11 p.m. (CT) / 10 p.m. (MT)

Tuesday, December 13
12 a.m. (ET)
10 a.m. (ET) / 9 a.m. (CT) / 8 a.m. (MT)
7 p.m. (ET) / 6 p.m. (CT) / 5 p.m. (MT)

Wednesday, December 21
8 p.m. (ET) / 7 p.m. (CT) / 6 p.m. (MT)
11 p.m. (CT) / 10 p.m. (MT)

Thursday, December 22
12 a.m. (ET)
11 a.m. (ET) / 10 a.m. (CT) / 9 a.m. (MT)

Friday, December 23
7 p.m. (ET) / 6 p.m. (CT) / 5 p.m. (MT)

Saturday, December 24
4 p.m. (ET) / 3 p.m. (CT) / 2 p.m. (MT)
11 p.m. (ET) / 10 p.m. (CT) / 9 p.m. (MT)

Sunday, December 25
3 a.m. (ET) / 2 a.m. (CT) / 1 a.m. (MT)

The Deadwood Chamber of Commerce, the City of Deadwood, Deadwood Mountain Grand and the South Dakota Department of Tourism partnered to bring GAC to the Black Hills to produce the special.

Be the first to like.

{ 5 comments… read them below or add one }

Bill Beshara December 12, 2011 at 3:07 pm

If that’s the best big and rich can come up with “drunk on Christmas” they should be ashamed of themselves. What an insult to anybody with a brain and what an insult to the city of Deadwood. I can’t believe anybody could write such a stupid song. But what can you expect, it appears they were drunk when the did it and evidently it is a good representation of their familes. Big and rich need to grow up. I hope this puts you at the bottom of anybody’s list.

DONNA December 14, 2011 at 9:54 am

Dear Bill,
Just to set the record straight. Big&Rich did not write “Drunk On Christmas”, Jimmy Fallon did. If you had read the blog, it clearly states this. Also, the song is a spoof on Christmas and is meant to be FUN. When Jimmy and John performed the song for the first time in Dec. 201o it was only for Jimmy’s show that night. Well, the audience and call in viewers went crazy with requests to put the song on iTunes, so they did..for the fans. Of course, B&R appeared drunk while singing this song. it’s all part of the role and image. These guys are professionals, make great music and work very hard. Why knock them? Deadwood SD should be grateful to Big&Rich for bringing natiaonal attention to Deadwood and filming the GAC Christmas special there. Big&Rich have always supported Deadwood SD, the residents should return the favor or at least keep the negative comments to youself. “If you can’t say anything good, then there is nothing good to say” Big&Rich Between Raising Hell and Amazing Grace.

Bill Beshara December 17, 2011 at 2:15 pm

Dear Donna,
I have to admit I later watched the program when it came on TV. The clip that I saw didn’t do the progam justice. There was some excellent talent on the show and beautiful scenery of the Black Hills. I still take exception to “Drunk on Christmas” no matter who wrote it or when it came out. I’m sure it is meant to be all in fun, but I guess I take Christmas a little more serious. To each his own. I am not a huge fan of Country Western, but I watched a show not long ago put on by the CMA, hosted by Jenifer Nettles. I really enjoyed this show and would recommend it highly. It was more my “traditional” style.

Donna December 20, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Dear Bill,
I am glad that you watched Christmas in the Black Hills and recognized the musical talents of the various artists. I do have to admit that personally I would have preferred to hear Big&Rich sing a more traditional Christmas song, becasue I know they would have done a beautiful job. However, I guess they were not in “the mood” for that and chose a lighter, funnier song. Well, that is just Big&Rich and the personna they as a duo emit. Solo, both are more traditional country. Listen to some of the songs on John Rich’s album “Son of a Preacher Man: (i.e Another You, I’d Thought You’d Never Ask and Preacher Man) if you want a sense of the real John Rich. Kenny also has a solo album called ‘The Life and Times of a Farm Boy”, that displays his more traditional country side. Give country music (they stopped calling it country western :) ) a chance. I, too was not much of a country music fan, then I saw John Rich’s solo concert, discovered Big&Rich and am now a lifelong country music fan of all the different styles. Traditional and Muzik Mafia. I find that life tends to be very stressful and relieving that stress with a little crazy Big&Rich music is.. well, just fun. Big&Rich also have a very serious side as evidenced by their songs, 8th of November, Holy Water and Lost in the Moment. I have to add, that since becoming a country music fan, I have met some of the most teriffically awesome people. I wish you and your family a Blessed Merry Christmas and a Happy Healthy New Year.

Lloyd Loberg December 4, 2012 at 11:43 am

The Christmas was fabulous! And so was Deadwood!

Leave a Comment